Dr. Mayo, a native Houstonian and Stratford High School graduate, is a highly accomplished figure in Ophthalmology. Graduating at the top of his class from the University of Texas at Austin and Southwestern Medical School, he has consistently demonstrated excellence.

Dr. Mayo completed a three-year surgical specialty residency at Wills Eye Hospital, serving as Chief Resident in his final year. Since graduating in 1994, he has been a trailblazer in the field, merging his Houston laser eye surgery practice with Eye Center of Texas in 2007.

As the Chairman of Surgical Specialties at Bayshore Medical Center, he has been recognized as a “Top Doctor” in Houston and is renowned for pioneering bladeless cataract surgery, earning a top 10 national ranking for procedures using the LenSx Laser. Dr. Mayo’s influence extends to his role as the Medical Director for Opticare medical insurer in Texas and as one of 15 physicians on the Physician Leadership Board for United Surgical Partners Corporation in the United States.

Education and experience

Undergraduate Education

The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas
Degree: B.A. – Plan II Interdisciplinary Honors Program
Awarded with Highest Honors
Overall GPA: 3.998
Attended: 1982-1986

Medical Education

University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas, Texas
Class rank: 7 out of 192 (cumulative rank)
1 out of 192 (third-year rank)
Attended: 1986-1990


Internal Medicine Internship
Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas, Dallas, Texas
Attended: 1990-1991

Ophthalmology Residency

Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Elected Chief Resident for 1993-1994
Attended: 1991-1994

Honors and Awards

  • Chief Resident at Wills Eye Hospital 1993-1994
  • Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Medical Honor Society 1989
  • Southwestern Medical Foundation Scholar 1986
  • Awarded Southwestern Medical Foundation Scholarship 1986
  • Named a Dean’s Distinguished Graduate of the University of Texas in 1986
  • Phi Beta Kappa 1985
  • Phi Beta Kappa Scholastic Achievement Award winner 1985
  • Endowed Presidential Scholarship winner 1985
  • Virginia Smith Scholarship for Outstanding Students 1985
  • Distinguished College Scholar 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986
  • Mortar Board Student Leadership Society 1985-1986
  • Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society
  • Golden Key National Honor Society
  • License and Certifications
  • Pennsylvania 1993
  • Texas 1994
  • The American Board of Ophthalmology May 12, 1996
  • Professional Affiliations
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons
  • Harris County Medical Society
  • Texas Medical Association

About our review process

At Eye Center of Texas, our commitment is centered around providing trustworthy and evidence-based information related to ophthalmological health and wellness. As a leading resource, we strive to be a dependable guide for individuals seeking knowledge in this field.

Every aspect of our content, from images to products and services, undergoes thorough scrutiny for clinical accuracy. Dr. Mayo and our team of medical experts rigorously review and uphold the highest standards, ensuring that our information is reliable and of the utmost quality.

Financing Options Available

Apply today to find a financing option that meets your needs.

Our Locations